Life = Ministry

Henry W. Coe State Park in Morgan Hill, CA by Heather Zuber-Harshman

Henry W. Coe State Park in Morgan Hill, CA by Heather Zuber-Harshman

I am coming to visit you after I have been to Macedonia, for I am planning to travel through Macedonia. Perhaps I will stay awhile with you, possibly all winter, and then you can send me on my way to my next destination. This time I don’t want to make just a short visit and then go right on. I want to come and stay awhile, if the Lord will let me. In the meantime, I will be staying here at Ephesus until the Festival of Pentecost. There is a wide-open door for a great work here, although many oppose me.
1 Corinthians 16: 5 – 9 NLT
 
 

Paul was a mover and a groover. He only stayed in one place long enough to accomplish what God intended for him there, then moved on to the next place.  It’s amazing how much he traveled considering he didn’t have the luxury of toting himself around in a 4-door sedan.

Part of me feels tired when I think about how much time he spent in transit and working with people, and another part of me admires how completely he devoted his life to ministry. He was zealous about his ministry, seeing opportunities to pursue God’s work in all situations. Paul didn’t sit on the sidelines waiting for opportunities to present themselves; he actively sought them out.

In the past week a number of ministry opportunities popped up in our life. A few friends were sick or experiencing other health problems, which meant it was time to deliver homemade chicken noodle soup. An 89 year old neighbor wanted to reminisce about his younger years so I lent him my ear.  A family at our church had a lot of stressful things going on, so we provided them with dinner. Some friends were feeling overwhelmed by fostering a seven-year-old girl, which presented an opportunity to send them a care package to let them know they are loved and cherished.

Henry W. Coe State Park by Heather Zuber-Harshman

Henry W. Coe State Park by Heather Zuber-Harshman

These ministry opportunities made for a busy yet satisfying week. They also opened my eyes to the realization that life is ministry, meaning, we could spend everyday serving others and never run out of people to help. I used to fret about deciding which charities I should volunteer with, thinking I needed to do so in order to give back to the community. Now I see, like Paul, that there are people everywhere, in all walks of life that need our love and attention; all we have to do is open our eyes to the opportunities that are sitting there, waiting to be pursued.

What ministry opportunities are there at your church and  work place? with your friends and family? with your neighbors?

2 comments on “Life = Ministry

  1. You never know what amazing things are in store for us.

    I think that St. Paul (the person not the city) traveled expecting to minister while traveling. We only know about glimpses when he had time to dictate a letter. He knew he was especially blessed with Grace, Love and Power and only had 24 hours in a day.

    It will be so cool to talk with him.

What are your thoughts?

