One word at a time

Mt. Cook on the South Island of New Zealand, by Heather Zuber-Harshman

Mt. Cook on the South Island of New Zealand, by Heather Zuber-Harshman

Put on your new nature, and be renewed as you learn to know your Creator and become like him.

Colossians 3:10 NLT

If you were to describe Jesus in three words, what words would you select?  I would describe him as patient, compassionate, and understanding. Those words jumped to the forefront of my mind because they are three words that don’t consistently describe me.

A new year means fresh starts, so I see this month as an opportunity to pick one of my three words to work on. I choose patience.  Dictionary.com defines patience as “the bearing of provocation, annoyance, misfortune, or pain, without complaint, loss of temper, irritation, or the like.” Hmm. . . quite an all-encompassing word, huh? There’s nothing like starting big.

I vow that this month I will 1) not grumble and leak steam from my ears when I get stopped by a series of red lights, 2) smile and say a prayer each time my 12 week old son has a mega crying session, 3) stop looking at the clock so much when it’s family time in the evenings, 4) suck in three deep breaths if someone is taking longer to explain something than I think is necessary, and 5) not get grumpy when the person in front of me at the grocery store has a million coupons, doesn’t start writing out his/her check until the total is displayed, and disputes some of the charges.  Phew.  I’ll be busy.

Do you need to work on one or more of the words you used to describe Jesus? Which one will be your focus for the remainder of this month?

6 comments on “One word at a time

  1. Wow – I can’t believe I happened to come across your blog! Love it! Hope you are well, girlfriend. Hugs, Sherri

  2. mala1829 says:

    Hey there! I like the definition of patience you cited. Sounds like you and I share some patience issues! LOL 🙂 and I’m about to take on a whole new challenge on this front… Anyway, I’ll be working on this with you!

What are your thoughts?

