Are there twins in there?

3 But with me it is a very small thing that I should be judged by you or by any human court. In fact, I do not even judge myself.4 For I am not aware of anything against myself, but I am not thereby acquitted. It is the Lord who judges me.5 Therefore do not pronounce judgment before the time, before the Lord comes, who will bring to light the things now hidden in darkness and will disclose the purposes of the heart. Then each one will receive his commendation from God. 1 Corinthians 4: 3 – 5 ESV

Are you ever self-conscious about what others think of you? Maybe you just got a new haircut, car, or outfit and you want others to like it. Or you are a new parent and people everywhere (grocery store, work, mom’s group) are giving advice on how to parent your child/children. Or maybe you left your job to pursue your dream career and your family and friends think you’re making a big mistake.

I was very self-conscious this past summer about my pregnancy weight gain. Ever since month five I’ve had people comment about how big I am and how I’m going to have a large baby. Now it’s also, “Are there twins in there?” Super.

Heather at 35 weeks right before heading off to teach a cycle class

Being a fitness instructor who leads a relatively healthy life style, I wanted people to view me as fit, healthy, and just the right size. After weeks of tormenting myself about working out more, eating fewer sweets, and not gaining more than X pounds between my doctor visits, I finally had to realize that people were going to think (and unfortunately say) whatever they wanted no matter what I did. That’s when I decided it was time to start focusing on my mental and physical health rather than others’ view of what that should look like.

Now I’ve accepted that I’m going to be larger than I expected despite eating healthy and teaching multiple hours at the gym each week, and that’s okay. My body wants to be “all baby” so I need to let it do so. And for those people who like to comment on my massive belly, I will simply smile and remember that God is handling this pregnancy exactly as he sees fit, which is perfect in every way.

How can you be less self-conscious about what others think of you? What is a healthier perspective you can have on this area of your life?

4 comments on “Are there twins in there?

  1. Congrats Zuber!! i didn’t even realize you were prego. Good luck!! (and you look AMAZING!!)

  2. Tabitha Hibbitts says:

    I just saw this post on Linked In (which I don’t get on too often) and I didn’t know you were pregnant either! Congratulations! You look adorable and healthy, but I think that’s gonna be a good size baby!

    You’re right, relax and let your body do what it needs to. Don’t worry about what anyone says, just be happy with yourself. Breastfeeding will take all of that off you in no time anyway (if you have chosen to do that). With my first, I stayed in shape, and 2 weeks after he was born I was back in my jeans. It wasn’t so easy after my daughter, because my body chose to address it differently. But after my 3rd child, I shrunk down to a size smaller than before I’d had any babies. Every pregnancy is different, as you know. My point is, a woman’s body is amazing and know what it needs to do for that particular baby. And because you’re so fit, you won’t have an issue when your body is done growing that particular human 🙂

    Congrats again! You’re going to be an excellent mom! I miss your perky supportiveness! You’re in my prayers on this last leg of your pregnancy!

    • Thanks Tabitha. Yes, I’ve come to realize that every woman’s body will do what it wants and needs to during pregnancy, which is both a mystery and a miracle. I hope I look even half as good as you after this baby arrives. We appreciate your prayers and thoughts. I hope all is well with your family, too.

What are your thoughts?

