It’s all about perspective

You have allowed me to suffer much hardship, but you will restore me to life again and lift me up from the depths of the earth. You will restore me to even greater honor and comfort me once again.  Psalm 71: 20 – 21 NLT

The south island of New Zealand by Heather Zuber-Harshman

Location. Location. Location. That’s what real estate agents in Southern California tell you when it comes to buying or selling property. If you want to live by the beach, you’re going to pay for it. If you’d rather have more for less, then live inland where it is less desirable and generally a lot hotter in the summers. As long as you accept that location is a huge factor in the price, then all is good.

Perspective. Perspective. Perspective. I believe that’s what our faith walk with Christ is all about. The perspective of the psalm’s author really shocked me when I first read it. Thanking God for being able to suffer much hardship? That’s like thanking a person who hits you with a car for allowing you to be hospitalized with compound fractures of your leg, or something like that.

So why would this person appreciate hardship? Because experiencing difficult times usually means that God is growing us for amazing blessings he has planned for our future. And as a member of my Bible study said this week, the greater the hardship, the bigger the compliment from God because he will only give us what we can handle. That’s a little hard to get one’s mind to accept, unless you have the right perspective – God only wants what is best for us and he is infinitely wiser than we are.

I invite you to join me in this challenge for the month of August: stop viewing hardships as a bad thing. Instead, view them as opportunities and part of God’s supreme plan for us. I think we’ll be pleasantly surprised by how much more joy and peace we’ll have in our hearts when we achieve that perspective.

 

I apologize for my extended absence with posting stories and devotionals on my blog. Traveling and visiting with our families and friends has been a large part of our summer, but things are slowing down this month so I’ll be able to post more regularly. Thank you for your patience and continued support.

Best,

Heather

2 comments on “It’s all about perspective

  1. Dale Harshman says:

    I suppose your perspective has changed even in the few days that you have written this? Your professional hardships this year have indeed turned into a blessing.

What are your thoughts?

