He’ll leave the light on for you

If you keep yourself pure, you will be a special utensil for honorable use. Your life will be clean, and you will be ready for the Master to use you for every good work.

2 Timothy 2:21 NLT

by Heather Zuber-Harshman

A few years ago I decided to fly to Cedar Rapids, Iowa for Christmas to visit my family. I strategically picked a flight with a layover in Dallas rather than Chicago, thinking I was saving myself a lot of stress and potential delays by doing so. However, when I arrived in Dallas, I was told that all flights to Iowa were canceled due to fog. The entire state? I clarified that three times and was given an affirmative response. Super.

My options were slim. I could stay in Dallas with the hope that Iowa would open up in the next day or so, and then wait until they could fit me on a flight. I might get there in a couple of days. That wasn’t going to fly (ha) so I asked how close they could get me to Cedar Rapids.  “St. Louis,” they said, “and then you’re on my own.” “I’ll take it,” I said, and ran to board the flight.

When I landed in St. Louis I got a one-way rental car (ouch, that amount hurt) and drove five hours through the dense fog to my parents’ house. Let’s just say that visions of deer darting in front of me, rear-ending cars I couldn’t see, and driving off the road plagued me for days after my ordeal. My sweet mom was waiting for me when I pulled in at 3:00 a.m. She let me borrow a pair of pajamas since mine were apparently still in my suitcase sitting in California somewhere, and I happily fell asleep, knowing that I was safe and cared for.

I view sins in our lives like fog. When we let sins pile up or fester, they get increasingly dense to the point we can’t see or reach our destination: being in a consistent, loving relationship with God. We feel separated from him, and may even experience anxiety, disappointment, or sadness because we know we are sinning but aren’t doing anything or enough about it.

In 2 Timothy 2, Paul calls us to take stock of how much and what kind of sin we have in our lives and endeavor to rid ourselves of what we can, and work on what remains. We will never be free of sin until heaven, but we can strive to work on one at a time to clean ourselves up for being in relationship with and serving our God. And the best part is, God wants to help us through this process. He also desires to stay up late so when we arrive at our destination, he will be there to welcome and hug us, and maybe give us some new jammies.

Are you fogged in by sin? What is one sin you can confess to God and work on ridding from your life today?

What are your thoughts?

