The uber happy syndrome

13 Then shall the young women rejoice in the dance, and the young men and the old shall be merry.  I will turn their mourning into joy;
   I will comfort them, and give them gladness for sorrow. Jeremiah 31:13 ESV

by Heather Zuber-Harshman

There is a man at our church named Evan who always wears a smile on his face, has a spring to his step, and something funny or positive to say. He’s the kind of person you want to have around because his joy is contagious – you can’t help but feel giddy and carefree when he’s in the room.

Sometimes when we meet or know uber happy people we may think, “Gee, they must have ideal lives since they are so joyful all of the time. Money, fear, lack of sleep, and stress must be unknowns for them.” In reality, though, we all have issues in our lives that can bring us down and rob us of our joy, if we let them. Or we can let these issues be an excuse to turn to God so he can transform them into joy and gladness.

I know you’re thinking, “Easier said than done.” I agree because I struggle with this everyday. However, I want people to look at me like I look at Evan: as a person I want in my life, who makes me feel good and motivates me to give my cares to the Lord. On the flip side, who wants to be around someone who is always down, negative, or who doesn’t wear smiles?

God calls us to give our worries to him to free up energy and time to dance, give ourselves warm fuzzies, play, rejoice, smile, laugh, and feel giddy. Why not give something up to him today?

 

2 comments on “The uber happy syndrome

  1. George says:

    Why not let go and let God…the worries of this world want to consume everything including time with God.

    I enjoy reading this blog.

What are your thoughts?

