Have you had any locusts in your life lately?

7 Our ancestors in Egypt were not impressed by the Lord’s miraculous deeds.  They soon forgot his many acts of kindness to them.  Instead, they rebelled against him at the Red Sea.  8 Even so, he saved them – to defend the honor of his name, and to demonstrate his mighty power. 

Psalm 106: 7 – 8 NLT

by Heather Zuber-Harshman

When I read the above passage during my quiet time yesterday, I thought, “Gee, locusts, saving their first born, escaping Egypt – that wasn’t enough for them to believe that God is supreme and to trust his plan for them?  They sure were ungrateful and lacking faith.”  And then I pondered how I have been responding to a current struggle in my life.  I’ve wondered, “Why me,” and “How could God give me what is contrary to what I asked for,” and “What am I going to do now?”  Yeah, how ungrateful and lacking in faith, huh?

So I’ve changed my course.  Now I’m meditating on all of the locust, first born, and escaping Egypt miracles God performed in my life in the past couple of years.  In each instance he delivered more than I could have expected, so how could I possibly doubt that he will pull through on my current situation, too?  Even if he doesn’t respond in a way that lines up with my “plan,” I still need to trust that my God is big enough to handle things in a way that is far wiser than if I were in control.

Have you been disappointed with how God has handled a situation in your life lately?  How have you worked through that disappointment?

7 comments on “Have you had any locusts in your life lately?

  1. Allison says:

    Wow. This totally hit home tonight. We are going through a time of mourning and it has been rough. The thing is…I KNOW God can do anything! I fully believed with everything that is in me that a miracle would occur and he would be fine. There was no doubt in my mind. I thought…no, I prayed, “let Your glory be revealed in this situation!”

    So, now I’m stuck with how to handle the disappointment. Disappointment with God not handling things the way I wanted Him to. Hmmm…like I know better than the Creator of the heavens and the earth. Disappointment with not getting my way and then having to deal with the aftermath. We work so hard to be comfortable, to not hurt, to always be happy. So when we deal with tough stuff, we almost don’t even know how to handle it.

    I’ve been avoiding my bible study. I’ve been avoiding prayer. It’s time to turn towards the grief and begin REALLY praying again, REALLY working through my studies. Relying on His strength to see us through.

    • I’m sorry to hear of your loss, Allison. I’m sure I would respond the same way, but at least you’re turning the corner now. I’ll keep you in my prayers and hope that you’ll connect with God even stronger now that you’ve gone through this trial. Hugs

    • Allison, you are on the right path…seems that God spoke to you through Heather’s blog. As you prayed His Glory is being shown.

  2. This is a really blessed post, Heather!

  3. Dale Harshman says:

    Nice post, sweetie. Praying that God will show you what this period of uncertainty is intended for.

What are your thoughts?

