Where does music take you?

4And when they looked, they saw that the stone was rolled away: for it was very great. 5And entering into the sepulchre, they saw a young man sitting on the right side, clothed in a long white garment; and they were affrighted.  6And he saith unto them, Be not affrighted: Ye seek Jesus of Nazareth, which was crucified: he is risen; he is not here: behold the place where they laid him.  7But go your way, tell his disciples and Peter that he goeth before you into Galilee: there shall ye see him, as he said unto you.  

Mark 16: 4 – 7 KJV

by Heather Zuber-Harshman

I wonder what Peter thought when he learned that the angel who appeared at Jesus’s tomb mentioned him by name.  No other followers were named; only him.  Maybe it stirred up feelings of guilt for having recently denied knowing Jesus.  Or maybe it caused him to think back through the days he spent with Jesus, reminiscing about the places they traveled, the people that were healed, and the lessons he learned.

It may also have been a ray of hope for him.  Perhaps he realized that Jesus forgave him and had other tasks for him to complete.  Maybe he was even a little taken aback and thought, “Wow, there must be something big in my future for an angel to have mentioned me by name.”

What causes you to reminisce about your faith?  What stirs hope in your heart for the future?  For me, it’s music.  A single song can send me soaring to both of these places.

Recently I listened to the first volume of Steven Curtis Chapman’s new “best of” album.  When I heard The Great Adventure, I was transported back to my freshman year at Wartburg College in Waverly, Iowa.  Wartburg is a small, private Christian school that has its own radio station.  I was a DJ for two hours each week which gave me an excuse to play my favorite songs for the entire campus to hear – The Great Adventure was one of them.

When Be Still and Know played, I closed my eyes and savored each word.  I needed to hear the lyrics because they gave me peace and comfort regarding a struggle I’m experiencing now.  They also filled me with hope and faith that all will be resolved according to God’s will and timing.

Maybe Steven Curtis Chapman’s album will transport you to places you need to and want to go, too.  Why not give it a try?  You can download the songs with iTunes or Amazon.com, and/or listen to a short, live performance from last week here.

What are your thoughts?

