“I Found my Cooking Mojo” Recipe #3: That’s Some Taasstyy Chili You’ve Got There

Cheese and green onions are great toppers for chili

I have always wanted to love chili.  Something about the color, blend of textures, variety of flavors, and the way it warms my tummy on a “cold” winter day (cold being relative since we live in San Diego) makes me want to crave it all of the time, but I don’t.  That’s because I’ve never been able to take my liking of chili to the level of love . . . until last weekend.

On Saturday I attended a women’s conference at my church.  It was a chilly, rainy day that screamed for some type of soup.  Finding spicy ground sausage in our freezer, I decided that chili would be the soup du jour.  Throwing the ingredients together in my well-worn Crock Pot, I left it to contemplate its existence for a few hours while I was gone.

Upon returning at three that afternoon, I was greeted by the best part of using a Crock Pot – the smell of chili hanging in the air.  I managed to resist the temptation to try it until later that evening.  My husband Dale only lasted until about noon that day.

Add some kick to your chili with Chipotle Tabasco

3 lbs. ground sausage (I used 2 lbs. spicy pork sausage and 1 lb. spicy chicken sausage)

1 large red onion cut into about 1” long by .5” wide pieces

1 15 oz. can chili beans (don’t drain the liquid)

1 15 oz. can pinto beans drained and rinsed

1 15 oz. can black beans drained and rinsed

1 15 oz. can tomato sauce

1 15 oz. can stewed tomatoes

15 oz. chunky salsa (I just filled the tomato sauce can with salsa)

2.5 Tbsp. chili powder

1 Tbsp. cumin

1 tsp. ground pepper

2 Tbsp. Chipotle Tabasco (optional for some nice heat and a smoky flavor)

1 tsp. pepper flakes (optional for heat)

Cook the meat in a pan with the onion.  Drain the grease.  You can use paper towels to remove additional grease by laying a few paper towels in the bottom of a large bowl. Then put the meat in the bowl and press down on it gently with additional paper towels.

Combine all of the ingredients in a Crock Pot and stir.  Put the lid on and turn it on low.  Let the chili cook for about 5 hours.  The great thing about Crock Pots, though, is that you can leave the chili for longer and it won’t hurt it.  I let ours cook on low for 9 hours and then turned it off and let it sit for 2 hours before eating it. It was still piping hot when I ladled it into bowls.

I suggest serving the chili with chopped green onion, shredded cheese (we used cheddar), and a dollop of low fat sour cream.

Are you in love with chili?  What’s the best chili you’ve ever tasted?

Here are two more recipes that will tempt your taste buds:  Fall Infused Belgian Waffles, Smokin’ Hot Spareribs

2 comments on ““I Found my Cooking Mojo” Recipe #3: That’s Some Taasstyy Chili You’ve Got There

What are your thoughts?

