A Clean Slate

Great is his faithfulness; his mercies begin afresh each morning.

Lamentations 3: 23 NLT

Redwoods of Northern California by Heather Zuber-Harshman

One morning I woke up stewing over the frustrating state of a friendship. Why hasn’t she made an effort in our relationship in the past few months? Why is it that my recent significant life changes seem to mean nothing to her?  I ceaselessly rolled these and other thoughts over in my mind, getting increasingly agitated as the morning progressed.

By noon my list of accomplishments for the day had been stymied because of my deep-seated hurt and anger about the faltering friendship.  I shared the situation with my husband who suggested that I show her mercy.  Being stubborn by nature, I did not want to do so.  I said, “She should be the one to acknowledge her shortcomings in our relationship and ask me for forgiveness, right?” And then he reminded me of the Israelites.

God bestowed mercy on the Israelites in the Old Testament over, and over, and over despite their continued rebellion.  This mercy applies to me, too.  God patiently forgives my shortcomings every day.  I therefore need to bestow this same mercy on those in my life, even when I think they don’t deserve it.

Prayer: Dear Lord, please motivate and remind me to shower others with mercy every day just like you do for me.  Amen.

Do your mercies begin afresh each morning?

4 comments on “A Clean Slate

  1. A great reminder that mercy is an outward manifestation of love. We are called to love and therefore called to show mercy.

  2. Marisa Ala says:

    I can’t help but think of the hymn Great is Thy Faithfuless which says, in the chorus:

    “Great is Thy faithfulness!” “Great is Thy faithfulness!”
    Morning by morning new mercies I see;
    All I have needed Thy hand hath provided—
    “Great is Thy faithfulness,” Lord, unto me

    Source: http://www.hymnal.net/hymn.php/h/19#ixzz1jqVvjOJu

What are your thoughts?

