The Power of Three Simple Words

1 I love you, Lord; you are my strength.  Psalm 18:1 NLT.

Sunset over Lake Atitlan in Guatemala by Heather Zuber-Harshman

One morning during my quiet time I read the first verse of Psalm 18 and stopped, unable to read any further.  The simplicity of the phrase, “I love you, Lord” hit me hard.  I am very disciplined about thanking and praising God for all of the blessings he showers on me, but when do I ever just say I love you?  I don’t.

I thought about why I don’t say I love you to my Heavenly Father like I do my earthly father.  Realizing that the words seem too simple for expressing the depth and complexity of my feelings towards God, I knew that this was why I shied away from using them.  Avoidance, however, was denying God from hearing words that are music to his ears.

To overcome my lack of confidence with the phrase, I decided to embellish my sentiments to God to help me express the depth of my love.  I now regularly use phrases such as, “I adore you, my Creator and Redeemer,”  “Oh how deeply I love you, my Savior and Father,” and whatever else my heart feels led to pray.  Sharing my love with God now feels so good and right.

Prayer:  My Heavenly Father, I adore, cherish, and love You.  Help me to continually develop and express the love I feel towards You.  Amen.

Do you consistently tell God how much you love him?

Song for meditation:  So in Love by Jeremy Camp

What are your thoughts?

