Smite Me, O Mighty Smiter

1 I love the Lord because he hears my voice and my prayer for mercy.  2 Because he bends down to listen, I will pray as long as I have breath!  Psalm 116: 1 – 2 NLT

from Google Images

Whenever I need a good chuckle or a fresh perspective on my faith, I’ll pop a massive bowl of popcorn, cut up some cheese and apples to go with the popcorn (Iowa tradition), and dig out my copy of  Bruce Almighty.  Settling in the corner of the sofa and resting my feet on the ottoman, I’ll sit back and enjoy many a giggle and chortle at Bruce’s (Jim Carrey) crazy funny lines.

At the beginning of the movie, Bruce is upset with God because Bruce experiences one misfortune after another.  He is convinced God is ignoring him in his misery.  During his woe is me time, Bruce says some not so nice things to God, which God repeats back to him later: “The gloves are off, God”; “God has taken my bird and my bush”; “God is a mean kid with a magnifying glass”; “Smite me, O Mighty Smiter.”

from Google Images

Do you ever feel like God is ignoring your circumstances?  Like he is so far away there is no chance he is aware of what you are experiencing? In Bruce Almighty, God (Morgan Freeman) appears to Bruce and shows him the filing cabinet drawer God has for Bruce that contains information on everything Bruce has experienced in his life; the drawer is the length of an exceptionally long room, and it’s full.  I like to think that God has a drawer for each of us that he adds things to every day because he is always present in our lives. 

Bruce Almighty helps me to remember that, whenever I feel like God is far removed from me, he is actually bending down to listen to and keep track of my prayers.  He never ignores me and always knows what I am experiencing and what I need at every moment in my life.

Song for Mediation: Near to the Heart of God

Want to treat yourself to an early Christmas gift? You can purchase Bruce Almighty here

2 comments on “Smite Me, O Mighty Smiter

  1. Thanks for another great devotional.

What are your thoughts?

