Give Me Your Eyes

5At Gibeon the LORD appeared to Solomon in a dream by night, and God said, “Ask what I shall give you.” 6And Solomon said . . . 9 “Give your servant therefore an understanding mind to govern your people, that I may discern between good and evil, for who is able to govern this your great people?” . . . 11And God said to him, “Because you have asked this, and have not asked for yourself long life or riches or the life of your enemies, but have asked for yourself understanding to discern what is right, 12behold, I now do according to your word. Behold, I give you a wise and discerning mind, so that none like you has been before you and none like you shall arise after you.” 1 King 3: 5 – 6, 9, 11 – 12 ESV.

One of my favorite television shows growing up was I Dream of Jeannie.  Each time I watched an episode I daydreamed about what I would ask for if I had a genie.  Sometimes it was a Barbie doll house, other times a new bicycle without a banana seat.  My tastes varied according to the time of year, if I was feeling cheated out of special toys, and the degree to which my imagination was soaring.  Not once, though, did I contemplate asking for anything that would have improved my character or benefitted others.

from Google Images

Now that I’m grown and realize that God, not a genie, is the giver of all good things, I recently reassessed what I would ask for were God to visit me in a dream like he did Solomon.  I chose God’s eyes – the ability to see people as he does.  I frequently misjudge people based on their actions, facial expressions, words, or even my misconceptions, judgments, and selfishness.  Were I to see people as God does, I would be more forgiving and compassionate.  I would focus on why they act the way they do rather than how their actions impact me, and would be more conscious of how my actions and words impact their lives.

Do I need to wait for God to appear in a dream to seek this gift?  No.  I can ask for it every morning during my quiet time and can take the initiative to see people through God’s eyes.  Whether I’m teaching at a gym or school, grocery shopping, or sitting in a coffee shop, every day I have many chances to adjust my views of those around me.

If God appeared to you in a dream and instructed you to ask him for anything, what would you ask for? 

Song for Meditation:  Give Me Your Eyes by Brandon Heath http://www.amazon.com/Give-Me-Your-Eyes/dp/B001E5422C/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=dmusic&qid=1320538097&sr=1-1

from Google Images

What are your thoughts?

