Are You a Dorothy or a Cowardly Lion?

14 “So now: Fear God. Worship him in total commitment. Get rid of the gods your ancestors worshiped on the far side of The River (the Euphrates) and in Egypt. You, worship God.”  Joshua 24: 14 MSG

The Wizard of Oz from Google Images

To this day I cannot watch The Wizard of Oz because it scares me.  It’s not just that I’m afraid of the Wicked Witch, which I’ll admit even though I’m thirty-six years old; the altered world of Oz gives me the creeps.  I haven’t watched the movie in years and don’t plan to any time soon.

The Cowardly Lion from Google Images

As a kid I wondered why the Wizard wanted people to fear him – now I think perhaps he needed others to respect him and his wisdom.  God wants us to fear him for similar reasons; however, fearing God is not meant to drive us away like cowardly lions.  Instead, it’s meant to draw us close to him through resting in the protection and comfort provided by his great power.  Fearing God is also meant to remind us to worship our amazing Lord, who created the sea and every living creature in it, and who has the ability to move mountains.  Our God can do anything, so we should stand in awe before him and be respectful and obedient.

How do you respond to God’s greatness and power?        

Song for Meditation:  Here I am to Worship by Phillips, Craig and Dean

2 comments on “Are You a Dorothy or a Cowardly Lion?

  1. V.V. Denman says:

    I always thought Oz was creepy too. Love the verse you chose. “You, worship God.” That’s pretty straight forward. 🙂

    • I know a lot of young kids who love the movie which makes me feel a little wimpy, but I guess we all have our unique fears. Mine just happens to be make-believe. Ha.

      I like it when the Bible is so straight forward. It’s a great wake-up call.

What are your thoughts?

