It’s Time to Grow Down

15 One day some parents brought their little children to Jesus so he could touch and bless them. But when the disciples saw this, they scolded the parents for bothering him.  16 Then Jesus called for the children and said to the disciples, “Let the children come to me. Don’t stop them! For the Kingdom of God belongs to those who are like these children. 17 I tell you the truth, anyone who doesn’t receive the Kingdom of God like a child will never enter it.”  Luke 18: 15-16 NLT

In August we stayed with friends in San Francisco who have two kids.  Although their three-year-old daughter, Dana, had met me at my wedding three months prior, she didn’t recognize me without my hair done and my wedding dress on.  I pulled out my iPhone so I could show her some wedding pictures to spark her memory.  “Remember my princess dress?” I asked her as she admired my gown.  She nodded and said, “I need to grow up.”

Dana as Princess Jasmine

Jesus calls us adults to do just the opposite – grown down.  He wants us to have the unquestioning faith that children have towards their parents and others who care for them.  Children accept that their basic needs will be taken care of whereas we adults tend to stress about putting food on the table, making enough money to cover the bills, and anything else that stands in the way of us living the life we think we should be living.

Imagine if you put all of the energy that you spend fretting about life into thanking God for everything he gives you – a roof over your head, pets, good health, a gentle breeze on a warm day, a restful night’s sleep, people who love you, sunshine, times of rest.  Making time for praising God can help you to grow down to the childlike state that helps you to have faith in God’s ability to care for you in this life and eternity.

What will you thank God for today?

Song for Meditation:  http://www.amazon.com/Like-A-Child/dp/B00168OX5I/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=dmusic&qid=1318258127&sr=1-1

What are your thoughts?

