I Found my Cooking Mojo

The week Dale and I returned from our honeymoon in June of this year, I celebrated our marriage by settling in for some extended one-on-one time with a Better Homes and Gardens cookbook my mom had given me a few Christmases before.  I hadn’t used it much when I was single because I was rarely inspired to spend hours grocery shopping and cooking just for little ole me.  So our marriage served to unleash a cooking beast that had lain dormant within me for thirty-six years.

Our tasting journey began with sampling many unique recipes, and then morphed into me creating meals based on our need for spice and flavor, and what happened to be in the cupboards and fridge.  As time wore on I found myself yelling “BAM!” as I pieced together items, and discovered that I managed to develop some recipes that were worthy of sharing with the world.   See what marriage can do for a woman?

“I Found my Cooking Mojo” Recipe #1:  Smokin’ Hot Spareribs

1 package pork spare ribs

Pork Spareribs

1 c. salsa

1/3 c. cider vinegar

½ c. beer

½ c. water

½ Tbsp. steak sauce

1 Tbsp. Worchestershire sauce

1 Tbsp. hot sauce (optional for some added kick and excitement)

½ c. brown sugar

½ tsp. garlic powder

2 ½ Tbsp. dry mustard

2 tsp. smoked paprika

1 tsp. salt

1 tsp. black pepper

Combine all of the sauce ingredients in a pan.  Simmer on low for about one hour, stirring occasionally.  Let it sit for a few minutes to thicken.

While the sauce is cooking, boil the ribs in a pan with the lid on for one hour.  Remove the ribs.  Cut them between the bones and place them in a casserole.  Pour the sauce over the ribs, reserving about ½ cup for after they are done baking.  Cover the ribs with tin foil and bake at 350° F for 30 minutes. Remove the foil and bake for another 30 minutes.  This makes four servings.

It takes a lot of effort to make both the sauce and ribs, so we’ve decided to double the recipe each time we make it.  Plus it was so tasty, it was disappointing that we only got two meals out of it.

Our household is low-sugar so we used less than ½ of the amount of sugar most recipes use.  We prefer tangy over sweet, but if you prefer the opposite, you can add up to an additional 1 cup brown sugar.  You may want to start with less sugar and add to taste as you go.

Bon appetit!

How do you BBQ spareribs?  What general BBQ tips do you have?

4 comments on “I Found my Cooking Mojo

  1. Marisa Ala says:

    SOUNDS YUMMY! And John and I were just saying we needed to make ribs…

    • I know, huh? I’ve made ribs twice since we’ve been married – I used different types of ribs each time. I had never made them before because they seemed like a “make them when you’re married” kind of food. They take sooo much time and effort, but they are totally worth it!! you should go for it. Just save some for me.

  2. Sorry no spare ribs for me…pork doesn’t go well with Katy and me. Your recipe sure looks good though…

What are your thoughts?

