Don’t Quit Your Day Job

In December 2009, my mom retired from a rewarding forty-three year nursing career at St. Luke’s Hospital in Cedar Rapids, Iowa.  She was a postpartum nurse for the majority of that time, and even helped in labor and delivery for a number of years.  To celebrate her retirement, my sister Rebecca and I flew back to Iowa immediately before Christmas to throw her a retirement party with our dad and other sister.

My job was to plan the food, including a special dessert. Purchasing a decorated cake from Hy-Vee would have been an easy route, but I decided to make a special, memorable dessert for her instead.  After racking my brain for ideas, I ultimately decided on a cupcake cake.  I scoured the internet for pictures of nursing related cakes.  Imagine my shock when I couldn’t find any.  The burden then rested on me to design something.

I slaved in my sister Holly’s kitchen for hours, baking the cupcakes, mixing up different colored frosting, and then creating and decorating the cake.  The end result wasn’t quite what I had hoped, but Mom seemed pleased and the kids at the reception sure enjoyed it.  What do you think it was supposed to be?  Have you ever attempted to make a cupcake cake?

The Infamous Cake by Heather Harshman

4 comments on “Don’t Quit Your Day Job

  1. Darian says:

    Is it a baby bottle?

  2. Marisa Ala says:

    It turned out great Heather! I totally remember this story, but I don’t think I ever saw a picture of it! I would have recognized it even if I didn’t already know what it was…

What are your thoughts?

