Night Owl

There are some days when I cannot wait for the sun to set so that I can rest my head on my pillow and forget the worries of the day.  There were times when I was practicing law, though, when I was unable to forget.  I would lay awake for hours, tossing and turning, reviewing the decisions I had made that day, critiquing my performance in court, thinking of the eternally long list of things I had to do the next day.  When I shared my sleeping woes with a wise friend he said, “Heather, God’s going to be up all night anyway, so why don’t you give your worries to him?  He’ll take care of them.”  Simple yet brilliant.  I tried doing that every night.  Over time I found that I was sleeping better and waking up refreshed, ready to embrace a new day.

What worries do you need to give to God when you lay down tonight?

Song for Mediation:  http://www.amazon.com/New-Day/dp/B001Q1MRU8/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=dmusic&qid=1314024379&sr=1-1

from Google Images

 

2 comments on “Night Owl

  1. Marisa Ala says:

    Sounds a little bit like my evenings the last couple of nights!! Oh… the woes of preparing for trial.

What are your thoughts?

