A Reminder of His Majesty and Glory

10 Then David praised the Lord in the presence of the whole assembly: “O Lord, the God of our ancestor Israel, may you be praised forever and ever! 11 Yours, O Lord, is the greatness, the power, the glory, the victory, and the majesty. Everything in the heavens and on earth is yours, O Lord, and this is your kingdom. We adore you as the one who is over all things.” 1 Chronicles 29:10 – 11

The view looking up in a Redwood forest by Heather Harshman

When I moved to Tennessee in June 2010 I thought I would never return to California.  There was one tree unique to California that I was going to miss tremendously – Redwoods.  While living in California, I made it a yearly goal to visit the Redwoods.  Big Sur, Humbolt, Del Norte . . . I visited numerous parks from Santa Cruz to Crescent City where I camped and hiked beneath the staggering beauty and magnificence of these great trees. Their stature was a continual reminder of God’s greatness and majesty.  Maybe this was why God took the time to create these treasures and the environment in which they thrive – not so that we could appreciate and be awed by their beauty, but so that their beauty and majesty would remind us of the greatness and power of our Lord.

After moving to Tennessee, I realized I don’t need to be among the Redwoods to be reminded of who God is.  There are other amazing creations in everyday life that remind me if I just look for them – sunsets when streaks of clouds cross the sky, hummingbirds, the dew on the grass in the morning.  All of these reflect God’s glory and power.

What reminds you that God is the one who is over all things?

Prayer:  Heavenly Father, please help me to see your greatness in my everyday life.  I adore you and thank you for all of the glorious things you created to remind me of who you are.  Amen.

What are your thoughts?

