A Little God Moment

Read Matthew 10: 29 – 31

29What is the price of two sparrows—one copper coin? But not a single sparrow can fall to the ground without your Father knowing it. 30 And the very hairs on your head are all numbered. 31 So don’t be afraid; you are more valuable to God than a whole flock of sparrows.

 

I once read that God provides his believers with special little “God moments” with his creation simply to bring us joy and an appreciation of his greatness.  I had one of these moments when I was in Whistler, Canada.  As usual, I woke up with the sun, ready to have some coffee and my quiet time.  I headed out into the Village to find a peaceful place to read my Bible and pray.  After securing a coffee, I sat on a bench that had a picturesque east-facing view of the mountains.  All was quiet – no people or animals were moving about.

I watched the sun rise as I enjoyed my time alone with God.  Suddenly a sparrow flew by, landing on the other end of the bench.  He looked directly at me, cocking his head from side-to-side.  I looked back, marveling at how small and precious he was.  He reminded me of the Bible verse that discusses how, if God can provide for birds like my little friend, surely he will care for us, his treasured creation.  Smiling, I savored this thought.  After about twenty seconds the sparrow flew away, likely in search of another person for whom God wanted to provide a special moment.

2 comments on “A Little God Moment

  1. John Ala says:

    Sweet. Thanks for sharing. It’s good to remember that we are a treasured creation of the Most High.
    ~On the other side of the bench, the sparrow was probably just bummed you didn’t have a pastry to share.

What are your thoughts?

